Death of a Lobster Lover – Lee Hollis

32451963 4/5 Lobster Stars

On The Back:

Food and cocktails columnist Hayley Powell is off on a girls’ getaway with her two best friends. But soon they’ll have to get away from a killer

The quaint fishing village of Salmon Cove, Maine, seems like the ideal location for a girls’ weekend with Hayley’s gal pals, Liddy and Mona. Liddy’s on the rebound from a breakup, but when she meets a handsome tourist, it looks like a little romance might liven things up.

Unfortunately, Liddy’s new sweetheart is found dead on the beach the next morning at the town’s Lobster Bake, next to an overturned cooking pot. The liberated lobsters may be scrambling back to the sea, but Hayley’s not about to let a murderer escape so easily. To crack the case, she’ll need to blow the lid off some serious undercover activity–or risk becoming ensnared in a killer’s trap…

Includes seven delectable recipes from Hayley’s kitchen!

My Thoughts:

*I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review from Kensington and Netgalley*

A delightful new book that picks up where the series left off, Death of a Lobster Lover was an exciting book that I enjoyed!

Hayley Powell is one of the few MCs that makes me laugh out loud. Her shenanigans and crazy wit, make her a joy to read about. I also love how she unapologetically investigates any happenings in her town (or in this book’s case, her vacation town). I really love Mona, though I wish we’d get to see her husband! He’s always talked about, but I can’t remember ever meeting him (though with eight previous books, I could’ve forgotten!).

The mystery was solid, and it deviated from the cozy norm–which is a good thing! I didn’t guess the different components until the end, and I loved how the authors pieced it together! Really the only part I didn’t like in the book was the setting. Though it was beautiful, I feel like Bar Harbor adds a certain charm to the books, that this book was lacking.

Overall an excellent book in a series that I love. Highly recommend!

Leave a Reply

