Poppy Done to Death – Charlaine Harris

5930085 5/5 Visiting Brothers

On The Back:

From the New York Times bestselling author of Last Scene Alive and the Sookie Stackhouse novels.

Not just any woman in Lawrenceton, Georgia, gets to be a member of the Uppity Women Book Club. But Roe’s stepsister-in-law Poppy has climbed her way up the waiting list of the group-only to die on the day she’s supposed to be inducted.

Sordid stories of infidelity in Poppy’s marriage lead to a rash of suspects, and Roe begins to question her own heart. But her passion for the truth will drive her on-into the path of the cold-blooded killer.

My Thoughts:

Originally, I had saved this book until right before All the Little Liars came out, because I wanted to read them close together. Well, I got caught up in other books and this one just slipped my mind, but when I went to a bookstore the other day and saw it, I knew I had to pick it up (Especially since All the Little Liars has been out for a year, and Sleep Like a Baby is almost out!). I am sure glad I did it, because I forgot how good these were!

The thing I love most about these books is the way Charlaine Harris writes. This series is cozy, but it’s real. The author doesn’t shy away from real life problems, and the books fluidly flow into each other. Roe’s life has loads of problems, and, throughout the course of the series, some major characters leave or die, but it feels natural.

Roe is wonderful, she’s smart, kind, but not afraid to say what she thinks. I really love her mother and John, and I was so glad Ms. Harris brought Phillip back. I really like his character and how he’s evolved from the kid we first met. I must say, I really didn’t like Robin at first, but he’s grown on me now, and I really like him.

Though Roe and her family and all of their lives and issues are the stars of the book, the mystery was excellent, also. Tons of suspects, good motives, and Roe was not nosy! Perfect!

Overall a wonderful book, I can’t wait to read All the Little Liars now, and I hope Ms. Harris continues this series for years to come. Can’t recommend this series enough!

One thought on “Poppy Done to Death – Charlaine Harris

Leave a Reply

