War and Peach – Susan Furlong

30138564 4/5 Peach-shaped Chocolates

On The Back:

The author of Rest in Peach serves up another bite of Southern charm in the latest Georgia Peach mystery.

Nola Mae Harper is too busy restocking the jars of preserves and chutney flying off the shelves of her shop, Peachy Keen, to keep up with all the gossip about the upcoming mayoral election, but she does know the debate is sure to be a real barn burner.
Local farmer Clem Rogers claims he has a bombshell that could take small business owner Margie Price out of the running. But before Clem can reveal his juicy secret at the debate, his actual barn goes up in flames–with him inside of it. The town casts its vote against Margie, but Nola isn’t convinced the hardworking woman is capable of murder. Now to clear Margie’s name Nola will have to work fast under pressure, before Margie gets taken in by the fuzz…
INCLUDES RECIPES!

My Thoughts:

The third in a simply delightful series, War and Peach was a wonderful book full of lovable characters, and a solid mystery.

The characters are wonderful, for the most part. Ms. Furlong does a wonderful job of creating lovable characters that a person becomes emotionally invested in. However, there is one character that I feel is underdeveloped; Cade. Cade is Nola’s love interest, yet I feel as if I barely know him at all. I don’t know if it was just me, but I failed to connect with him, and the thing I look for most in a book is the ability to connect and feel as if you’ve known a fictional character for a lifetime. I don’t get that with Cade.

The setting is wonderful, but I have trouble picturing all of it in my mind. Parts of it, like Nola’s shop, the diner, the peach farm, and the entire downtown I can picture perfectly, but I have trouble picturing the outskirts of the town, the landscape, properly. The mystery is wonderful, I loved the different ways the author chose to go with it, and I did not see the end coming at all!

Overall a wonderful book that I really enjoyed. This book left off as if it were the last in the series, which I hope it isn’t. Highly recommend this series, and recommend this book!

One thought on “War and Peach – Susan Furlong

Leave a Reply

