Murder in the Secret Garden – Ellery Adams

27774641

4.5/5 Herbalists

On The Back:

Things really go to seed in the newest novel in the New York Times bestselling Book Retreat mysteries…

There is a hidden garden bordering the grounds of Jane Steward’s book-themed resort—a garden filled with beautiful but deadly plants such as mandrake and nightshade. Tucked away behind ivy-covered walls and accessible only through a single locked door, as described in the pages of Frances Hodges Burnett’s classic novel, the garden is of special interest to Jane’s current group of guests, The Medieval Herbalists. But when one of them turns up dead, Jane must discover whether a member of the group has come to Storyton Hall to celebrate their passion for plant lore or to implement a particularly cruel means for murder.

With thousands of books at her disposal, Jane believes she has the proper materials to solve this deadly problem. If she’s wrong, however, she may lose something far more precious than the contents of Storyton’s secret library…

My Thoughts:

*I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review from Berkley and Netgalley. All thoughts and opinions stated in this review are explicitly my own.*

The Book Retreat Mysteries have become one of the series I look forward to when they’re released, so naturally when I got the chance to get a for-review copy of this book I snagged it.

Jane is a wonderful character, she’s a single mother and yet balances it wonderfully with her duties as manager of Storyton Hall. Edwin, the love interest, is also excellent. He’s surrounded by mystery, but yet you can’t help cheering for him the entire time. The Finns are half good and that’s why I took the half star off. I really like Lachan and Sinclair, but I really could care less about Sterling or Butterworth. They’re boring, and I found myself skimming every time they appeared.

The setting is absolutely amazing. I would love to visit a place like Storyton Hall, and I don’t know if I would ever leave! The mystery was also well plotted. It didn’t have the typical huge MC-almost-gets-killed ending, but it was an absolutely wonderful change. It was a great puzzle.

Overall an outstanding book. Well worth the read. Highly recommend and I’ll read the next one!

Leave a Reply

