Grace Among Thieves – Julie Hyzy

19069212

4/5 Thieving Visitors

On The Back:

As curator and manager of the Marshfield Manor, Grace Wheaton is delighted to be part of the estate’s magnificent history, but no one told her solving murder was in her job description…

When Grace’s former professor calls to warn her that there have been a rash of thefts at various historical sites, Grace isn’t surprised—because Marshfield Manor has been targeted, too. She wonders if it has something to do with the film crew roaming the grounds, digitally immortalizing the manor, but then she gets distracted by an incident much more dire: the shooting of one guest and the murder of another.

Grace does her best not to go looking for trouble, but with a murderer on the loose, she can’t seem to leave the dirty work to the cops—especially since the killer still seems to be lurking around town, waiting to finish the job of making Grace history…

My Thoughts:

I feel like every book I’ve read recently has hit that 4/5 star mark. They’ve all been good, solid mysteries, but just fell short of the “amazing” books I want when I rate 5/5 stars. Grace Among Thieves unfortunately didn’t break that rut I’m currently in, but it did keep me engrossed for longer than the last few books I’ve read have.

Grace is a simply wonderful main character. She actually does her job in the books (which is rare in modern cozies) and she shows weaknesses. I simply adore her! The rest of the main characters in this book; Frannie, Bennett, Jack, Hillary, and others also reappear in this book. Both Flynn and Frannie, who had been strictly antagonistic earlier in the series, were fleshed out and made more 3D, and I hope both take large roles in the next book.

The setting is absolutely to die for. I would love to find an enormous mansion filled to the brim with artifacts and antiques to explore! However, the mystery fell slightly flat to me. I suspected the person from almost the beginning, and I almost skimmed the reveal because I had already guessed parts of it.

Overall an excellent book with a transparent mystery. I won’t wait very long to read the next one! Recommend.

Leave a Reply

