The Readaholics and the Falcon Fiasco – Laura DiSilverio

22891375

3/5 Readaholic Book Groups

On The Back:

Amy-Faye Johnson’s book club, the Readaholics, enjoys guessing whodunit in mysteries like The Maltese Falcon. But when a murder happens in their midst, they discover that solving crimes is harder that reading about them…

Amy-Faye has always loved her idyllic Rocky Mountain town of Heaven, Colorado. Her event-planning business is thriving, her fellow book-obsessed Readaholics are great, and her parents live only a few blocks away. But lately her hometown has felt a little less heavenly. First, she agrees to plan a wedding without realizing the groom is her ex-boyfriend. Then, Ivy, one of her fellow Readaholics, dies suddenly under mysterious circumstances.
The police rule Ivy’s death a suicide by poisoning, but Amy-Faye and the remaining Readaholics suspect foul play. Amy-Faye soon discovers that Ivy was hiding dangerous secrets—and making deadly enemies. Taking a page from her favorite literary sleuths, Amy-Faye is determined to find the real killer and close the book on this case. But finding the truth could spell her own ending…

My Thoughts:

This book has been on my pile for over a year. I bought it not long after it came out, intending to read it right away, but I just kept looking over it when I picked out what to read next. I finally read it and I must say, this was an engrossing, fast-paced book that was solid and wonderful.

I loved Amy-Faye. She goes through a lot in this book, and yet comes out of it still swinging. Ms. DiSilverio did a wonderful job of create a complex main character, with just as complex secondary characters without letting the secondary characters upstage Amy-Faye. I loved Maude and all of the Readaholics, also, with the exception of Brooke. I could not stand Brooke. She was rudely patronizing to A-Faye multiple times, but A-Faye just swept it off like it was nothing. Ugh ugh ugh.

The setting was wonderful. I’ve always wanted to visit the mountains of Colorado, and this book beautifully described a town in the mountains. The mystery was engrossing, and complex. However, the ending of the book was extremely frustrating. I felt that it was a cheap cop-out to add more drama to fill up the last few pages, and it left the door wide open for a love triangle in future books. Again: ugh.

Overall this was a good book. It had wonderful characters (with the exception of Brooke), a beautiful setting, and a tantalizing mystery. However the ending was horrible, and Brooke was horrible, also, so this book only gets 3/5 stars from me. I will read the next one, and I do recommend this one. It was really a solid first in a series book. Actually, above average for first books in a series.

2 thoughts on “The Readaholics and the Falcon Fiasco – Laura DiSilverio

    1. I honestly don’t know what it was about her, but she really rubbed me the wrong way. It could have been the way her husband acted that jaded me, also, but for some reason I just didn’t like her.

      Like

Leave a Reply

