Snobbery With Violence – Marion Chesney

87521

3/5 Faux Castles

On The Back:

Lady Rose Summer’s father calls on Captain Harry Cathcart to investigate her suitor, Sir Geoffrey Blandon, resulting in a scandalous breakup. When the Marquess of Hedley calls Harry about a murder, Harry calls in Scotland Yard Supt Kerridge, and Rose. Harry and Rose must unravel a web of lies, rumors, perilous plots – and their own mixed feelings.

My Thoughts:

I’ve read some of M.C. Beaton’s Hamish Macbeth mysteries, and I have a few Agatha Raisin mysteries on my pile, so when I saw this book at a used bookstore I grabbed it. I love historical mysteries, almost more than typical mysteries, but it doesn’t seem like I read them as often as I should. So, last night when I was staring at my shelves trying to find something to read, I saw this book and I tentatively started reading. I’m glad I did, because I enjoyed this book a whole lot!

Lady Rose is not as much of a Lady as her parents would like her to be, at least by their standards. She takes part in suffragette rallies, and gives little thought to getting married, and for that I loved her. She was extremely typical for a MC, but she was also engaging. I really hope she and Harry have more parts together in the next book. Harry is also an enigma, we know some about him, but other things we know nothing about. I really enjoyed reading his character, also.

The setting was dismal, but it was supposed to be. The mystery was okay. It was well plotted, but it lacked many suspects and it went along one train of though for most of the book.

Overall a good book, I enjoyed it and it was a very quick read. I will be reading the next one.

Leave a Reply

