Back to School Murder – Leslie Meier

19415455

3/5 Newspaper Offices

On The Back:

TINKER COVE’S OWN AMATEUR SLEUTH LUCY STONE

DISCOVERS THAT SCHOOL DAYS CAN BE MURDER.

It’s back to school time in the peaceful Maine town of Tinker’s Cove, and for mother-of-four Lucy Stone it isn’t a moment too soon. But trouble at the local elementary school soon has the sometime crime-solver juggling family, job, and night classes with another mystery to solve. And it starts with a bang.

A bomb goes off with the noon lunch bell, but not before all the kids are safely evacuated, and Carol Crane, the new assistant principal, is hailed as a hero. But days later, Carol is found murdered and everyone is stunned when the most popular teacher at the school is arrested for the crime. However, not everyone is buying the open-and-shut case, including Lucy Stone, who senses there’s more to things than meet the eye.

It soon becomes clear that Lucy is flirting with danger, as sizzling secrets and explosive surprises provide a primer for the most diabolical of motives. Hot on the trail of a clever killer, the dedicated mom and seasoned sleuth must harness the courage and cool aplomb to uncover a crime that just might give her an education in the fine art of murder.

My Thoughts:

A good addition to an okay series so far, Back to School Murder was an engrossing book that I devoured.

As I’ve stated before I absolutely love Lucy. She’s strong, independent, funny, and yet she’s not so perfect that it’s unrealistic. Sue reappeared in this book, however she took a lesser role, which I was slightly disappointed about, but it worked out. Ted, the newspaper editor, also reappeared in this book, but he played a bigger role and he was hilarious.

However, Bill was back to his egotistical, annoying self, but maybe it’s because of his egotistical annoying self that I found that he is actually a really interesting character. I rolled my eyes through most of the scenes he was in, but he was a good dad. I just wish he would’ve shown more of that side of him, versus the egomaniac side.

The setting was wonderful as always. The mystery was good. I did not see that killer until it was revealed, and I was extremely surprised. It still was on the far side of cozy mystery, but it was fine.

Overall a good book, not quite as good as the last one, but better than the one before that. This was a perfect quick read that would be perfect for a day at the beach, a day by the pool, or a day stuck inside. I will be reading the next one.

2 thoughts on “Back to School Murder – Leslie Meier

  1. Mark

    I’ve read and enjoyed the two novellas that were packaged in Joanne Fluke headlined collections (Candy Cane and Gingerbread Murder). However, I tried the first in the series and didn’t care for it. Again, I know plenty of people love the series, but it’s just not for me. And again, you are confirming my desire to stay away.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve had mixed feelings with these. Of the five I read I hated one, two were simply okay, and two were good. However, I love Lucy and her life so much I can easily see myself reading quite a few more of these.

      Like

Leave a Reply

