Shop Till You Drop – Elaine Viets

810473.jpg

3.5/5 Upscale Clothing Stores

On The Back:

Once on the fast track to success, Helen Hawthorne is now going nowhere fast.  She traded in her chic life for a shabby one.  And now she’s on the fun, jumping from city to city and dead-end job to dead-end job, trying to stay one step ahead of her past…After two weeks as the new salesclerk at Juliana’s, Fort Lauderdale’s ultra-exclusive clothing boutique, Helen still feels out of fashion.  And since the only crime likely to be committed around here is being old-or worse, looking old-Helen figures she is safe.  Until she discovers the manager has been embezzling money and selling designer drugs along with the designer clothes.  Add murder to the mix-and Helen’s dead-end job is downright deadly.

My Thoughts:

I have heard people simply raving over and over again about how good this series is, so when I saw this book at a rummage store about a year ago, I picked it up and bought it. Until now, however, I never got around to reading it. Shop Till You Drop was a funny, fast-paced start to a longstanding series that’s a favorite with many cozy readers.

Helen was a MC down on her luck. Unlike most cozy mystery main characters, we don’t know much about Helen’s past when we first start the book, finding out only a few vague details. However, the pieces of her extremely interesting past are soon put together. I loved Margery, Tara, and the rest of the supporting characters, and I hope we see them again in the next book.

The setting was actually wonderful. Most of the story took place in a wonderful older apartment complex and Juliana’s, an extremely upscale clothing store, and Ms. Viets did a wonderful job of describing both. The mystery, however, left a lot to be desired. There was no real climax at the end, and I didn’t like the way the mystery was set up; you knew who the killer was for quite awhile and you just had to find the evidence. It was disappointing.

Overall a solid book. I’ll read the next one.

One thought on “Shop Till You Drop – Elaine Viets

  1. Mark

    I know this series is popular, but I read the first two books in the series and stopped. I just didn’t find the appeal, I guess. But I seem to be one of the few.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

