Trick or Treat Murder – Leslie Meier

18904939

4/5 Carved Pumpkins

On The Back:

Haunted-house parties and ghostly galas…grinning pumpkins, mayhem and murder. It’s going to be one heck of a Halloween for Lucy Stone and Tinker’s Cove…

It’s October in Maine, and everyone in Tinker’s Cove is preparing for the annual Halloween festival. While Lucy Stone is whipping up orange-frosted cupcakes, recycling tutus for her daughters’ Halloween costumes, helping her son with his pre-teen rebellion, and breast-feeding her brand-new baby, an arsonist is loose in Tinker’s Cove. When the latest fire claims the life of the owner of the town’s oldest house, arson turns into murder…

While the townsfolk work to transform a dilapidated mansion into a haunted house for the All-Ghouls festival, the hunt for the culprit heats up. Trick-or-treat turns deadly as a little digging in all the wrong places puts Lucy too close to a shocking discovery that could send all her best-laid plans up in smoke…

My Thoughts:

I always try to give a series two (and sometimes three) bad books in a row before I quit it, because even though one book may be a dud, it doesn’t mean the entire series is. After receiving the 22nd book from Kensington and Netgalley as an ARC, and reading the 1st and 2nd books and having neither of them pop out at me, I was wary of this book, but I decided to plunge ahead and read it. I can say that I am pleased that I did!

I really like Lucy, and perhaps that’s why I read this one so soon after reading the second one. She’s strong, smart, and not afraid to work, all of which make her an admirable character. Her family is also wonderful; Bill can be annoying at times, but I’m very pleased to say that in this book he was tolerable!

The setting is so beautiful, and I wish I could find a town like Tinker’s Cove to live in. The mystery was well put together, though I did figure out the killer, the mystery still had tons of plot twists and turns and overall was just a good base.

Overall a good book, if the rest of the series stays like this, then I’ll stay with it! A perfect beach read.

Leave a Reply

