Caught Read-Handed – Terrie Farley Moran

23604321

4/5 Green Snakes

On The Back:

From the national bestselling author of Well Read, Then Deadcomes the second mystery featuring Sassy Cabot and Bridgy Mayfield, who bring Fort Myers Beach, Florida, residents plenty of sinful treats and killer reads at their bookstore café, Read ’Em and Eat.

Happy to help her fellow bibliophiles, Sassy visits the local library with book donations for their annual fundraising sale. Unfortunately, the welcoming readers’ haven is in turmoil as an argument erupts between an ornery patron and new staff member, Tanya Lipscombe—also known as “Tanya Trouble.” She may lack people skills, but everyone is shocked when she’s later found murdered in her own hot tub.

The man last seen arguing with Tanya is soon arrested. But Alan Mersky, a veteran with PTSD, happens to be the brother of Sassy’s former boss—and he’s no murderer. Now it’s up to Sassy and Bridgy to clear Alan’s name and make sure the real killer gets booked.

Includes a recipe for Miss Marple scones!

My Thoughts:

I added the first book in this series to my pile because it looked promising, and when it won an Agatha award it moved to the top of the list. However, that first book was honestly not my cup of tea, I had a few issues with it. So, when I was putting an order in at my library for a book this book wasn’t at the top, but nevertheless I added it, and I can honestly say that I’m glad I did. This book was a delightful read, and if the next books are anything like it, then I hope the series continues for a very long time!

I have to admit, the two MC’s names really annoy me. I mean Sassy and Bridgy, really, it sounds so childish, however, for some reason they didn’t annoy me nearly as much as they did in the first book. I loved the simply fact that Sassy didn’t go running into trouble and her method of sleuthing wasn’t really sleuthing at all, it was more of a puzzle that was simply placed in Sassy’s lap. The secondary characters were also wonderful, I really hope we see more of Frank Anthony and Miguel in the next book!

The setting is beautiful, simply beautiful. The mystery was also good, the ending came together perfectly leaving no real questions. I loved the secondary plotline with the snake, it really breathed life into the story!

The only real problem I had was the scene with the teenagers. I have never heard teens speak like that, it was horrible stereotypical, and it made teens in general seem like they have no brain, which obviously isn’t true.

Overall this was a simply riveting story. I will most certainly read the next when it comes out!

 

Leave a Reply

