Rest in Peach – Susan Furlong

26192776

5/5 Peach Orchards

On The Back:

In the refreshing new Georgia Peach Mystery from the author of Peaches and Scream, an upcoming debutante ball turns into the pits when a juicy murder scandalizes a small town.

The annual Peach Cotillion, Cays Mill, Georgia’s biggest event, is fast approaching and Nola Mae Harper is just as excited as the rest of the town—even though she’s busy juggling both the cotillion dinner and the grand opening of her new shop, Peachy Keen. But she never expected that plans for the cotillion would end up in the pits because of the cutthroat competition between local debutantes.

When Vivien Crenshaw, insufferable church organist and despised mother of the town’s spoiled-rotten Peach Queen, is stabbed to death, the police turn to Nola’s friend Ginny as prime suspect. Apparently the two had fought over a one-of-a-kind cotillion gown. As Nola steps in to prove Ginny’s innocence she soon finds herself picking through a bushel of suspects, twice as many motives, and at the mercy of a killer all too keen on killing again.

INCLUDES RECIPES!

My Thoughts:

*I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review from Netgalley and Berkley. All thoughts stated in this review are entirely my own*

Wow, this is the third awesome book I’ve read in a row. When Nola’s friend Ginny becomes the prime suspect in a murder Nola finds herself dragged into an exciting and dangerous web of lies, blackmail, and half-truths. Will Nola tear through the web and save her friend, or will she fail?

I absolutely loved this book. Honestly the first book was simply okay I was completely neutral. So, when I saw this book on Netgalley I wasn’t quite sure if I wanted it. However, I requested it and am now so glad I did. This book was positively amazing!

As I stated with the first book I loved Nola and the cast and crew around her. However, I found Hollis, Nola’s brother in law to be extremely annoying. In this book, though, Hollis plays a very minor role and when he does appear, he is extremely tolerable and great.

I also didn’t care for the mystery in the first book. Yet, again, I was surprise dot find that this book was great in the mystery department. It was wonderfully plotted and it had a great number of suspects and scenarios that could have happened. The setting also took on a vibrant life in this book.

Overall, this book was wonderful. The first book obviously suffered from simply “first-book problems.” However, if this book is any indication, I will simply love this series. I’m sticking around for War and Peach next year!

2 thoughts on “Rest in Peach – Susan Furlong

Leave a Reply

