Royal Spyness Mystery Series

Part of the recommendations post series.

I fist picked up the Royal Spyness Series by Rhys Bowen because it sounded funny. I read the first one but for whatever reason it wasn’t my favorite, so I dropped the series. However, months later, I picked up the second one and devoured it, then I read the third one, then the fourth one. I read three books in one series in a row. That is something that I NEVER do. That is how good this series is.

Georgie is 34th in line to be queen of England and she is poorer than poor. Her father squandered most of the family money and her sister-in-law all but kicks her out of her estate home. So Georgie does the only thing she can do, she goes to London and accepts jobs undercover working as a maid doing light cleaning, and, surprisingly, she doesn’t mind it. She loves having to liberty to make her own way in life.

Georgie is an amazing main character, she doesn’t shy away from hard work and she isn’t as flighty or superficial as you’d expect from a woman raised in her status. She solves murders and crimes through deduction without being stupid and she doesn’t let anyone rule her life. Her love interest, Darcy, respects her and loves her, he is also the son of an Irish peer who is penniless. Belinda, the Queen, and so many of the other characters are so realistic and hilarious that thy’ll jump off the page towards you.

Before this series I shied away from historical mysteries; but after this series I found that I enjoy them just as much as contemporary mysteries. This series has amazing twists, crazy turns, and will leave you screaming for the next book. I cannot express how highly I recommend this series. Please, do yourself a favor and get it!

Books in the Royal Spyness Series:

links are to the reviews that are posted on More Mysteries Please

  1. Her Royal Spyness
  2. A Royal Pain
  3. Royal Flush
  4. Royal Blood
  5. Naught in Nice
  6. The Twelve Clues of Christmas
  7. Heirs and Graces
  8. Queen of Hearts
  9. Malice at the Palace
  10. Crowned and Dangerous
3 thoughts on “Royal Spyness Mystery Series

  1. Mark

    Finally, a series I’m familiar with. Love this one. I’ve been reading Rhys since her Evan Evans series, which I found just about the time Molly started. Such a talented writer, and I do love this series as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Her Evan Evans series is actually the one series by her I haven’t read yet. I’m finishing up an ARC for her most recent Molly Murphy book now, and then the first Evan Evans mystery will probably be moved way up on my tbr list.

      Like

Leave a Reply

