Clammed Up – Barbara Ross

17239894

4/5 Clam Bake Stars

On The Back:

Julia Snowden returned to her hometown of Busman’s Harbor, Maine to rescue her family’s struggling clambake business—not to solve crimes. But that was before a catered wedding on picturesque Morrow Island turned into a reception for murder. When the best man’s corpse is found hanging from the grand staircase in the Snowden family mansion, Julia must put the chowder pot on the back burner and join the search for the killer. And with suspicion falling on her old crush, Chris Durand, the recipe for saving her business and salvaging her love life might be one and the same.

My Thoughts:

Wow, I’ve had this book on my nook for about a year now, and I only just read it. I must say it was amazing and I am sorry that I hadn’t read it before! Filled with wonderful twists and turns, great characters, and a wonderful setting, Clammed Up was a wonderful first book in this series that I hope to continue for awhile to come!

The characters were wonderful. The reasons why the MC came back home were predictable but overall the MC was a delightful character. Her sister, niece, and most of the other characters were also well-written. Her mother broke the cozy mold for most mothers. However, her brother-in-law, Sonny, was annoying and overall just a character I disliked. I hope he’ll get better in the next book.

The mystery simply blew me out of the water, so to speak. I thought I had it figured out a few pages before the end, but then the killer was revealed and I was shocked. However, it all fit together perfectly and I was surprised I didn’t see it before.

The ending was okay, but I wasn’t happy with what happened with the love interest. However, this was overall a wonderful book. I’ll read the next one!

2 thoughts on “Clammed Up – Barbara Ross

Leave a Reply

