Grace Interrupted – Julie Hyzy

9727331

4/5 Reenactment Stars

On The Back:

Civil war re-enactors have set up camp on the grounds of Marshfield Manor. The group is very believable, especially when the unrest spills out of the barracks and inside the sumptuous mansion. Grace manages to settle a minor squabble, but loses the war when actor Zachary Kincade is found stabbed to death.

Jack Embers, the groundskeeper, falls under suspicion when he’s linked to the death of Zachary’s brother years ago. But there were others out for Zachary, actors who can be very convincing when the coveted role of “General” is on the line. Grace feels responsible for finding the murderer…and for the sweet tuxedo kitten found on her doorstep, Bootsie. Can she come to the rescue of her friends without putting herself in danger’s way?

My Thoughts:

I started reading this book a long time ago, and never got past chapter one. So, when I found books three and four in this series at a thrift shop for a quarter a piece I knew I needed to read this book, and boy am I glad I did! Julie Hyzy melds a wonderfully flawed cast of characters with a huge, historic setting to form a series that I’m sure I will love!

I love the characters in this book. They are relatable, but flawed. In most cozy mysteries the main characters have their lives pretty much together, but that’s not always the case for these characters. Jack is deeply scarred by something that happened years ago in his family, Grace has been changed by the tangled web her sister chose to weave, and then her mothers death, and Bennett is a lonely old man who is desperately seeking someone to care for him. They all have vulnerability, which is what makes them great characters.

I loved learning more about Francis in this book. She was kind of two-dimensional in the first book because all you saw was her snarky side, but the side she shows in Grace Interrupted is one that I hope will stay.

The mystery was good, there were sufficient clues that made the reader keep up with Grace and her search for the killers. There was also two murders in this book, though one happened over a decade before. I have to say that one of the killer’s motives made them very transparent. However, the other killer came as a complete surprise to me.

Overall this was a wonderful book. I know the next few books have now jumped way higher on my TBR list!

Leave a Reply

