Every Trick in the Book – Lucy Arlington

15808719

2.5/5 Author Festivals

On The Back:

Lila Wilkins has it all: the home of her dreams in the charming town of Inspiration Valley, North Carolina; a perfect police officer boyfriend; and a new job she absolutely loves. At the Book and Author Festival, which is sponsored by the Novel Idea Literary Agency, Lila expects to discover some talented new authors, but what she finds instead is the body of an editor to whom she bears an eerie resemblance.

Trouble is, the editor’s death isn’t the only literary murder taking place. Soon a blossoming author is also killed, and Lila has a gut feeling that the two murders are linked. Now she must hunt down the dark figure who killed these women—and to her surprise, she just might find the clues hidden in a manuscript…

My Thoughts:

Well, that wasn’t as good as I thought it would be. In Every Trick in the Book Lila’s agency hosts an author festival that’s supposed to give authors and wannabe authors tips and tools to help them exceed. However, when one of the guest speakers is found murdered Lila inserts herself in the investigation to find the killer.

I was extremely disappointed in this book; it had such potential, great characters, an amazing job, and an idyllic setting. However, this book left me quite disappointed. To start with Lila. Oh Lila. She was bossy, rude, and purposely inserted herself in the investigation because she took the murder “personally.” Well, sorry, hon, but the murder had absolutely nothing to do with you. The person who was killed looked like Lila and did Lila a favor, but their relationship didn’t go past that, so I have absolutely no idea how she took the murder personally. She discarded multiple warnings by those who loved her most and I’m surprised she didn’t get fired for the amount of times she left work without telling anyone. She also accused someone before she even knew their name because of the way they looked. The way they looked! She should have been sued for libel right there!

And Sean, he had so much potential in the last book, but he threw it out the window in this book. First of all I’m not against some “under the table” help from policemen in my mysteries, but, oh my, this book was over the top. Sean allowed Lila to look through some very private files to help him and he did so many things that were not only against the rules of his job and would probably get him fired, but some were probably illegal. It was so annoying I almost yelled out.

The mystery was also a complete bust, there was only one major suspect and the book followed the progress in tracking down that suspect. Absolutely no surprise in who the killer was.

However, there were some redeeming qualities that brought this book from a 1 star to a 2.5 star read. First of all I love all of the secondary characters in the book. They are all funny and well-thought-out and I really wish we’d see more of them in future books. Also, the sub-plot at the co-op where Lila’s son lives was entertaining to read and I was at the edge of my seat trying to figure out what was happening. The story was also a relative quick read that flew past, a redeeming quality for me.

Overall not a very good book, however, I plan to stay for the next one simply because of the great setting and Lila’s job. Sadly, Every Trick in the Book gets a low 2.5 star rating from me.

3 thoughts on “Every Trick in the Book – Lucy Arlington

  1. this was a good review! I have read the book and i too was expecting more from it. I am new to writing and i mainly write mysteries. Given your username, I was hoping you could give my blog a quick look and tell me what you think about it? an unbiased opinion would be so helpful! xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

