Candy Corn Murder – Leslie Meier

22750015

4/5 Candy Corn Stars

On The Back:

Halloween is coming to Tinker’s Cove, Maine, and local reporter Lucy Stone is covering the town’s annual Giant Pumpkin Fest for the Pennysaver. There’s the pumpkin-boat regatta, the children’s Halloween party, the pumpkin weigh-in…even a contest where home-built catapults hurl pumpkins at an old Dodge! But not everything goes quite as planned…Lucy’s getting very annoyed that her husband Bill and his friend Evan have been working seemingly nonstop on their potentially prize-winning pumpkin catapult. But when the day of the big contest arrives, Evan is nowhere to be found…until a catapulted pumpkin busts open the trunk of the Dodge. Amid the pumpkin gore is a very deceased Evan, bashed in the head and placed in the trunk by someone long before the contest started.

Bill is on the hook for the Halloween homicide—he was the last one to see Evan—so Lucy knows she’s got some serious sleuthing to do. The crime’s trail seems to always circle back to Country Cousins, the town’s once-quaint general store that’s now become a big Internet player. Though the store’s founder, Old Sam Miller, is long gone, his son Tom and grandson Trey now run the hugely successful company. But whispered rumors say things aren’t going well, and Lucy finds that this case may have something to do with an unsolved, decades-old Miller family mystery…

With each new lead pointing her in a different direction, Lucy sees that time is quickly running out. If she wants to spook the real killer, she’ll have to step into an old ghost story…

My Thoughts:

*I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review from Kensington and Netgalley. This title will be published on August 25, 2015*

In Candy Corn Murder Lucy finds herself overwhelmed by pumpkins, thanks to the town’s new Giant Pumpkin Festival. Her husband and a friend of his are determined to grow the biggest pumpkin and have the best pumpkin catapult for the competitions. However, when that friend is murdered and her husband becomes the prime suspect Lucy must do some sleuthing of her own to get to the bottom of the murder, before her husband’s put in jail.

This was the first book I read int he Lucy Stone series, a series which I’ve heard tons about, and I must say that I really enjoyed it. It was fast-paced and a light, very-cozy read that I’d recommend.

I really liked Lucy, she was everything I look for in a MC, she was was intelligent, funny, and fought for what she thought was right. Her grandson, Patrick was also hilarious and cute, everything I’d expect in a kid. However, I found Lucy’s husband, Bill to be extremely annoying and condescending. It got to the point where I just wanted him out of the story.

Normally I don’t like flashbacks in my stories, but the flashbacks in this book were wonderfully written in and intertwined so that I looked forward to the flashbacks, simply to learn more about the characters and try and make connections with the other characters in the book. However, there were a few small mistakes int he book as to who said what, but none of them made any impact to the story and can be easily overlooked.

The mystery was also very good and the killer was surprising and yet not surprising at the same time. I must say, the killer’s reveal had my heart beating faster, it was very good, and extremely suspenseful.

Overall this was a very good book, I’ve had the first book in this series on my Nook for awhile now, and I must say, I’ll probably be reading it soon. With mostly great characters, with the exception of Bill, wonderfully written flashbacks, and a good mystery Candy Corn Murder gets 4/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

