The Julius House – Charlaine Harris

2354607

4/5 Hidden Secrets

On The Back:

Love at first sight turns into newlywed bliss for former librarian Aurora Teagarden-until violence cuts the honeymoon short.

Wealthy businessman Martin Bartell gives Roe exactly what she wants for their wedding: Julius House. But both the house and Martin come with murky pasts. And when Roe is attacked by an ax-wielding maniac, she realizes that the secrets inside her four walls—and her brand-new marriage—could destroy her.

My Thoughts:

In yet another wonderful installment to Charlaine Harris’s Aurora Teagarden mystery series Aurora finds herself a newlywed with a lot of time on her hands, since she quit her job at the local library. To satisfy her own curiosity about the homes previous owners, the Julius family, who disappeared without a trace 6 years before, she enlists the help of her new neighbors and Martin’s friends the Youngbloods. This was a fun mystery and I can honestly say that the ending surprised me.

Two new major characters are introduced in this book, Angela dn Shelby Youngblood, a young married couple who are old friends of Martin’s. I really liked this couple, they were fun and mysterious, especially Angel. I really want to know more about these two in the next books, let’s hope they reappear! Martin kind of annoys me, I wish he’s just tell Roe all about him, instead of continuing to hide parts of himself from her.

The mystery, however, was the real star of this story. It was hands down one of the best plotted and most surprising and twisted mysteries I have ever read. The killer took me completely by surprise, and I found that I sat there gaping after I found out who it was.

Another fast-paced book in a really enjoyable series, with some great characters, yet some annoying ones, too, a simply wonderful mystery The Julius House gets 4/5 stars! On to the next one!

Leave a Reply

