A Tough Nut to Kill – Elizabeth Lee

18210686

4/5 Pecan Farms

On The Back:

Lindy Blanchard has devoted five years of her life to saving the pecan trees on her family’s farm—but someone is going to deadly lengths to see that she fails…

Riverville, Texas, is pecan country, and the Blanchard family farm is famous for its acres of tall pecan trees and the delicious pies and cookies sold at the Nut House, the aptly named family store. Miss Amelia, Lindy’s feisty grandmother, makes the best pecan pies for several counties and the farm is attracting visitors from far and wide to sample the wares.

Until the day Lindy walks into the greenhouse to find her uncle Amos murdered and her new stock of trees destroyed, with the best of the bunch stolen. Who is out to ruin the Blanchard family? And who wanted Uncle Amos dead? With the sheriff stumped, it’s up to Lindy and Miss Amelia to save the ranch and tree a killer.

My Thoughts:

I was a little bit nervous when I started reading this book, because I’d read multiple reviews where reviewers said that they didn’t “click” with the characters or with the setting, but I was happy to find out that I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was full of excitement with a great MC who investigated without throwing herself in people’s faces and a great crew of family and friends.

As I said above, the MC was likeable and investigated without throwing herself out there. In the last book I read, Buried in a Bog, it seemed like the MC did little to no investigating and everything just fell into her lap, however with this book the MC investigates thoroughly and the reader finds out clues around the time she does too. I have to say however, I did guess the killer about 100 pages before the reveal.

The setting was wonderful, honestly I never put much thought into where pecans came from so I enjoyed learning a little bit about them in this book. The mystery was also nice, it wasn’t the best, but the motives were well-planned and I liked the surprise of an old mystery mixing with a new one.

Overall a very good book, I’ll be reading the next one inn the series!

Leave a Reply

