The Diva Haunts the House – Krista Davis

10705341

5/5 Haunted Houses

On The Back:

Domestic diva Sophie Winston is getting into the Halloween spirit- her decorations for a community haunted house are so good, it’s scary. Not to be outdone, rival domestic diva Natasha is throwing a spooktacular Halloween party at her house. But when Sophie arrives, she discovers one of Natasha’s guests dead in a Halloween display, and a pale, fanged partygoer fleeing the scene.Could the killer be a real vampire-the same one rumored to have lived in Sophie’s haunted house back when it was a boardinghouse? Good thing a domestic diva never runs out of garlic.

My Thoughts:

This month has been a catch-up month for me, out of the 14 books I’ve read this month 10 have been in series I’ve already started. This book fits perfectly into that, it’s the third book in this series I’ve read this month, but it was an amazing read with just the perfect amount of spookiness to go with the Halloween theme.

Sophie is once again back, and she’s better than ever. Like in her other books she is one of the most knowledgeable MCs I’ve read about recently, but yet she’s one of the most humble, too. All of the normal cast is back except for Sophie’s parents and Hannah, Sophie’s sister, but a whole group of new characters is introduced at the same time. That was probably the largest drawback of the entire book, so many new characters were present that I got them confused quite often.

As I said above, the spookiness factor was right on par with the Halloween theme of the book,and at some points I had goosebumps wondering what would happen next. The author did such a good job of steering me away from the murderer that when they were exposed I was shocked. A bit of superstition is also raveled into the mystery to set you on edge, and oh boy did it work!

Overall a wonderful book, one of the best this month. I hope the next book stays this good!

Leave a Reply

