Mum’s The Word – Kate Collins

3/5 Florists

On The Back:

Abby Knight is the proud owner of her hometown flower shop, but a new low-cost competitor is killing her profits-and a black SUV just rammed her vintage Corvette in a hit-and-run. She’s determined to track down the driver, but when the trail turns deadly, the next flower arrangement might be for her own funeral.

My Thoughts:

Really I had two problems with this book. One, Abby started off as an intelligent person, but towards the middle of the book she suddenly became really dumb. I mean, a few of the vital clues were directly in front of her face and she didn’t even notice them until 30 pages  later. It was really frustrating. Secondly, this could be just me, but the story started off with a bang but around page 100 (in my nook edition from Overdrive) it really slowed down and I lost interest for awhile. However, about 30 pages later the story  picked back up to a fast-paced plot and I enjoyed the rest.

Oh, I almost forgot, a third thing that annoyed me, Abby’s mom. I feel like all cozy mystery authors feel the need to have an overbearing mother or father. Why can’t both be supportive of their children? This has started to become a pet-peeve of mine in mysteries and I hope authors stop doing it soon.

Overall not a bad book, I’ll probably read the next one, but not a great book, either.

Leave a Reply

