The Diva Takes the Cake – Krista Davis

4/5 Colonial Houses

On The Back:

Some Wedding Advice from the Domestic Diva: Keep the food….Lose the Groom!

Sophie Winston’s sister, Hannah, is getting married-again! And if you ask Sophie, her future brother-in-law is no prince. But is he a killer? That’s the question on everyone’s mind when his ex-wife is found hanging from a pergola. This is one event Sophie and her sister hadn’t planned on.

As hidden family secrets begin to come to light, Sophie finds the list of suspects is almost as long as the list of wedding guests. Will the real killer be seated on the groom’s side or the bride’s? Or will he be standing at the altar? Either way, Sophie must solve the murder in time to stop her sister from making the biggest-and possibly the last-mistake of her life.

My Thoughts:

Another very enjoyable read, though not as good as the first.

I felt like we saw some major changes with characters, especially Hannah, Mars, and Natasha throughout this book. I also really feel bad for Natasha, I feel like she’s not meaning to be mean or rude but she’s just ignorant. However, the angst between Sophie and Wolf was kind of pointless to me, I thought that entire minor plotline of the book could have been eliminated quite easily.

The mystery was very well written and the killer was so obvious I never would have guessed him. Usually authors try to hide the killer until later in the book, however, Ms. Davis did an exceptional job of placing the killer in plain sight, but at the same time keeping people from guessing him and the ending right up to where the killer was exposed was really well plotted out. I never would’ve guessed what had happened.

Overall a really good book. There were a few minor things that I wasn’t pleased with and I think these titles are kind of corny, but I’ll definitely be reading the next one and I’d readily recommend this one.

Leave a Reply

