Keepsake Crimes – Laura Childs

3/5 Scrapbooking Shops

On The Back:

New Orleans scrapbooking shop owner Carmela Bertrand delights her customers with the sophisticated looks she achieves with their scrapbooks.  But among her client’s keepsakes she finds a tip of her own-about a murder…

My Thoughts:

This book had been on my tbr shelf since January, so I decided to read it after I got burnt out on the other books I was reading. This was overalla good book with a strong mystery.

The characters, however, were simply okay, they weren’t really as realistic as I’d like them, and I found myself rolling my eyes at Gabby, Shamus, and Carmela more than once. However, I really liked Ava, Tandy, Jekyll, and Baby.

I absolutely loved the setting, in New Orleans. It was so vivid that I could picture it perfect. However, at the same time, I feel that the author spent a bit too much time on describing Mardi Gras, she repeated herself a few times and I found myself skimming over those parts.

The mystery was very good, I didn’t see the killer until the very end when the MC realized who it is.

Overall an okay book. Pleasant, and it kept my attention, but yet the characters and overdescription of Mardi Gras had me cringing. I’ll probably read the next one, however.

Leave a Reply

