Her Royal Spyness – Rhys Bowen

4/5 castles

On The Back:

London 1932. Narrator Lady Victoria Georgiana Charlotte Eugenie, 34th in line for the throne, is flat broke. She bolted from Scotland — and engagement to Fishface (Prince Stiegfriend) — for London, where she has:

a) built a fire in the hearth
b) fallen for an absolutely unsuitable Irish peer
c) made a few quid housekeeping incognita, and
d) been summoned by the Queen to spy on her playboy son

When an arrogant Frenchman trying to swipe our family estate winds up dead in my bathtub, how can I clear my very long family name?

My Thoughts:

Typically I’m not crazy abut historical mysteries because I find them harder to read, however this was a really good mystery that I enjoyed.

I really enjoyed the setting and the entire premise of the book, the fact that Georgie was 34th in line to the throne, but absolutely penniless really appealed to me. I also loved the fact Georgie only had to drop her name and she could get away with things, though in some books that would make the character seem arrogant, the author does a nice job keeping Georgie down to Earth.

The main problem I had with this book was the cover. I’m assuming that it’s supposed to be Georgie on the cover, but in the mook she’s said to have red hair and on the cover she has blonde. Not really a major point, but it annoyed me. Also, Georgie’s brother Binky really annoyed me. He seemed like the type of person to have his sister do all of the work but he takes credit for it.

Overall a really good book. I loved the characters, setting, and mystery. I’ll read the next one!

Leave a Reply

