Death of a Gossip – M.C. Beaton

4/5 Idyllic Countrysides

On The Back:

Scottish highland village cop Hamish Macbeth must find which target was provoked enough to strangle and drown nasty fat widowed tabloid reporter Jane Winters, who revealed many others’ guilty secrets. Much is from the viewpoint of a naive secretary seduced by a blue-blood playboy. Icy blond beauty, aristocratic Priscilla Halburton-Smythe, lends a hand.

My Thoughts:

This book is one of the most well-known cozies there are, so I bought it awhile ago when I found it on sale,a nd I don’t regret it! This was a fun, fast-paced book that I devoured.

I loved the characters, especially Hamish. The fact that he wasn’t the only POV this story was told from made him more likeable, in my eyes. Alice annoyed me, but I think she’d annoy anyone.

The setting was great, and so was the mystery. I wasn’t too surprised at the killer, but there really weren’t many suspects. so I don’t think I would have ever been surprised by the killer. I really loved the way Hamish went around finding the killer, though, it really was a puzzle.

Overall a really good book I’ll be looking for the next one!

Leave a Reply

