Gluten for Punishment – Nancy J. Parra

4/5 Gluten-free Bakeries

On The Back:

With her mother’s death, Toni Ryder returns home to OilTop, Kansas bringing her gluten-free bakery business with her. But Toni has never felt at home in her hometown and cooking wheat-free in the middle of wheat country isn’t making her any less a fish out of water. When Toni becomes a suspect in OilTop’s first homicide investigation in twenty years, she must count on her crazy family and follow the clues to solve the mystery and clear her name.

My Thoughts:

This book was a quick, fun read, that I’d recommend.

The characters were realistic, and fun. I especially loved the incorporation that author did by adding multiple characters with special needs.

The setting was also great, though the author calls the town a small town, where I’m from 10,000-15,000 people would be a large town.

The mystery was also good, a lot of twists and turns. I guessed the killer beforehand but the story was still entertaining to the end.

The only real problem I had was the book took me awhile to get into. Besides that an entertaining read. I’ll be reading the next one!

Leave a Reply

