The Blazing Star – Erin Hunter

2/5 New Group Members

Originally posted on January 30, 2015 on Goodreads.

On The Back:

A deadly disease threatens every cat in the forest in this fourth book in the Dawn of the Clans prequel arc from mega-bestselling author Erin Hunter.

In the aftermath of the first great battle, the grounds of the four trees have been stained with blood and every cat has lost denmates and kin. Each group has sworn to a truce, but simply keeping the peace may not guarantee the cats’ survival. A mysterious, deadly disease threatens to strike deep into the heart of both camps. Only one thing can save them: they must seek the Blazing Star….

Discover the origins of the warrior Clans in this thrilling and richly developed prequel arc. Featuring a new cast of characters and a never-before-seen look at the history of the warrior cats, the Dawn of the Clans arc is perfect for existing fans and for those new to the Warriors world. With more than fourteen million copies sold and each new title hitting the New York Times bestseller list, the Warriors series has been flying off the shelves for ten years and counting.

My Thoughts:

I’ve been reading this series for awhile now, and I loved it, but I’ve found that the series is starting to go downhill. I actually pre-ordered this book, expecting great things because the last book, The First Battle was phenomenal, but I really didn’t like this book. It was exceedingly flat and very annoying.

To start with the characters. Cherith (one of the authors who writes under the pen name Erin Hunter) is not my favorite Erin. I think it’s the way she writes her characters. For instance, in the last book Kate (another of the Erins) actually made me start to look forward to Thunder’s parts in the story. I had despised his character before the last book, but in The First Battle I grew to kinda like him, but this book reestablished my hate for this character. He was arrogant and it really made me angry when he became one of the leaders. But enough about him.

Honestly, the writing was really flat, I felt that if some of the dialogue could have been improved this entire book would have improved, unfortunately that didn’t happen.

However there were some redeeming qualities in this book. I loved Star Flower’s character for the simple fact that she was different. I think she was the first antagonist to use seduction for her (father’s) gain. I also adored the bonus story at the end. I’m really excited to see what happens when they come to the rest of the former mountain cats.

This book was flat, and some points were annoying, but I love the characters. However, I can feel my interest waning in this series, so after the final two books in this arc I’ll probably quit reading it. Unless, of course, a novella or Super Edition comes out with my favorite characters in it.

Leave a Reply

