The Long Quiche Goodbye – Avery Aames

3/5 Cheese Shops

On The Back:

Welcome to the grand opening of Fromagerie Bessette. Or as it’s more commonly known by the residents of small- town Providence, Ohio-the Cheese Shop. Proprietor Charlotte Bessette has prepared a delightful sampling of bold Cabot Clothbound Cheddar, delicious tortes of Stilton and Mascarpone, and a taste of Sauvignon Blanc-but someone else has decided to make a little crime of passion the piece de resistance. Right outside the shop Charlotte finds a body, the victim stabbed to death with one of her prized olive-wood handled knives.

My Thoughts:

I bought this book awhile ago when I decided to pick up some Agatha Award winning titles, and to tell the truth, I was slightly disappointed with this.

The setting was amazing, the author did a superb job of making me see this part of Ohio with clarity and ease.

But, the characters were flat, and sometimes annoying. I found the main character to be almost arrogant at the beginning of the book, though she got tons better by the end. And her cousin, where do I start with him? I absolutely could not stand Matthew. I felt that he was a bad father and a bad character. First of all Charlotte does a lot more parenting than him throughout the book, and secondly, he can’t spend time with the girls because of the relationship he has with Charlotte’s best friend? No. Besides him, Meredith was also flat and unlikeable, to me. She was supposed to be Charlotte’s friend but she can’t tell Charlotte that she’s dating Charlotte’s cousin? And she avoids Charlotte to avoid telling her? No, I think that if she really loved Charlotte and Matthew she would have told Charlotte to begin with.

There were also a few minor inconsistencies, though none that affected the plot. Speaking of the plot, I thought it was grand, I didn’t guess the killer until Charlotte did, and I loved the way the mystery fit together.

Overall not a bad book, just a few bad characters and a few inconsistencies. I still want to read the next book, however, because I like the characters (besides Meredith and Matthew) and I adore the setting.

Leave a Reply

