Holiday Grind – Cleo Coyle

4/5 Fa-la-la lattes

Originally published on December 20, 2014 on Goodreads.

On The Back:

It’s Christmastime-and when manager and head barista Clare Cosi finds a red- suited body in the snow, she adds solving Santa’s slaying to her coffeehouse menu. Soon, a few clues convince her his death was something more than a mugging gone awry.

With Clare’s NYPD Detective boyfriend distracted by his own cold case, Clare discovers on her own that Santa had a list that he was checking twice- and the folks on it were not nice. But Clare had better watch out, because if she fails to stop this stone cold killer, she may just get the biggest chill of her life.

My Thoughts:

Ever since I picked up the first book int he Coffeehouse Mystery Series I’ve been hooked. Coyle describes the characters with such vividness that I feel that I’ve walked into the Village Blend, and this book was no exception.

I loved the Christmas setting of this book, especially the fa-la-la-lattes and the santas, they added a great coziness to the read. I also loved that Clare and Mike had a fight, to me it added a bit more realism into their relationship that I felt was a nice touch.

However, this is rated 4 instead of 5 stars because of the murder. I guessed the killer early on and I though the murder plot wasn’t the best the authors had come up with.

However this was a great, quick read that I enjoyed, especially with Christmastime. If only the Village Blend was a real place!

Leave a Reply

