That Old Flame of Mine – J.J. Cook

5/5 Chocolate Covered Peppers

On The Back:

NO MATCH FOR MURDER

After knocking the lights out of her boyfriend when she catches him cheating on her, Chicago fire fighter Stella Griffin hops on her Harley and heads for Sweet Pepper, Tennessee, where she ends up becoming the small town’s fire chief. When her dear friend Tory Lambert dies after her gingerbread-style house is set ablaze, Stella suspects arson and foul play.

As Stella investigates, she gets help from a most unlikely source—the ghost of Eric Gamlyn, Sweet Pepper’s old fire chief. And if that isn’t enough to rattle her, attractive police officer John Trump seems to have taken an interest in her. But Stella’s got to stay focused if she hopes to smoke out a killer before her own life is extinguished.

My Thoughts:

This was a funny, well-written mystery that had the right tones of suspense, action, and murder to make it a winner.

I loved the characters. Stalla, John, Erin, Petey, Walt, Ricky, even Ben. They all were 3D, and believable, which is what I want when I read a book. I really want to know more about Ben, if he’s really turning good or if he just wants Stella to stay selfishly.

I also loved the setting, I could picture the mountains in Tennessee and Sweet Pepper. The name of the town is magnificent, Sweet Pepper, I’d love to live there.

I honestly can’t think of one bad thing to say about this book, I loved it. There wasn’t too much romance, just a little bit, and the fact that Stella punched her ex made me smile. An amazing book and a start to what looks like an amazing series.

Leave a Reply

