Catering to Nobody – Diane Mott Davidson

5/5 Fantasy Roleplay Games

Originally published on December 13 on Goodreads

On The Back:

Catering a wake is not Goldy’s idea of fun. Yet the Colorado caterer throws herself into preparing a savory feast including Poached Salmon and Strawberry Shortcake Buffet designed to soothe forty mourners. And her culinary efforts seem to be exactly what the doctor ordered…until her ex-father-in-law gynecologist Fritz Korman is struck down and Goldy is accused of adding poison to the menu. Now, with the Department of Health impounding her leftovers, her ex-husband proclaiming her guilt, and her business about to be shut down, Goldy knows she can’t wait for the police to serve up the answers. She’ll soon uncover more than one family skeleton and a veritable stew of unpalatable secrets — the kind that could make Goldy the main course in an unsavory killer’s next murder!

My Thoughts:

I had seen this book recommended countless times and had heard nothing but good things about it, so when I saw it in a used bookstore in October I bought it and it’s been sitting on my TBR shelf ever since, but yesterday after I couldn’t get into another book I decided to try this one and I do not regret it.

The characters are well fleshed-out and are fun to read about. The characters also deal with some real-world problems and none of them are perfect. I loved reading about Arch, I think he was one of the best characters this book had.

I felt like I lived in Colorado after reading this, the setting was perfectly described, and the town itself was a cozy setting for a mystery.

Overall a very good book with a lot of hidden plot twists, great characters, and a great setting.

One thought on “Catering to Nobody – Diane Mott Davidson

Leave a Reply

